WE Logo EnFrancais

Image

 

In 1971, at the age of 14, I saw a few feet away from me, Frank Marino who was playing Hendrix songs on a flat bed at the Place Versailles, in the East of Montreal, that made its way afterwards to the Maurice Richard Arena for a tribute concert, for the first anniversary of Jimi Hendrix’s death.

I didn’t see the show at the Arena because I did not have a ticket or any money to buy one but, the 30-40 minutes that I observed Frank Marino play guitar, gave me the passion of the guitar and the obsession that one day, I would be the one that would give a concert and play Jimi Hendrix songs.

About 10 years later, at the beginning of the 80’s, I had the idea and the desire of putting a show together that would reproduce the major event that was Woodstock in 1969, idea that finally gave way to my work and other activities.

After becoming a guitar collector and still very much a Hendrix & Woodstock fan, I bought a reproduction of the Gibson ES335 that Alvin Lee played at Woodstock. I finally sold that guitar on Ebay in 2009, to a French doctor that invited me for a week of jamming at the Island of Embiez in the south of France, and the theme was Woodstock!

For that event, I thought of the name « Forty Years After » for our improvised band and the obsession of putting together a Woodstock show came back to me right then and there, stronger than ever!

After putting together a production company, a crew of 15 musicians plus a stage manager, sound & lighting technicians, a team of roadies and even a group of hippie girls that came directly from the 60’s, the premiere of Forty Years After « The Woodstock Experience » was held at Club Soda, on Saturday August 6th 2012!

We are now planning a revival of the show for 2019, aptly renamed Fifty Years After, for obvious reasons !

On stage, you will see and hear a reproduction of the best moments of Woodstock in sound and images, while staying faithful to the Sixties in regards to the equipment and the instruments; sound & lighting, costumes; incense & patchouli, headbands, and Peace & Love signs just like in 1969!!

This is a lot more than your average cover band, every musician was hand-picked to make sure they could reproduce the originals artist's performances from the 1969 Woodstock Festival.

Come and see Hendrix, Santana, Cocker, The Who and more at the grand premiere of « Fifty Years After»

Claude Zalac, President
Vintage Productions

Fifty years after
Image
The Show
Fifty Years After is a trip back to 1969 at the Woodstock Music & Art Fair with 15 musicians, recreating 15 of the most exciting bands to perform at these 3 Days of Peace & Music!
The Show
Fifty Years After is a trip back to 1969 at the Woodstock Music & Art Fair with 15 musicians, recreating 15 of the most exciting bands to perform at these 3 Days of Peace & Music!
The Technical
Only vintage instruments are used in this show in order to recreate the actual sound of all the bands that performed at Woodstock. No lazers on this one!
The Clips
This show is a multimedia event with footage of the Woodstock movie, projected as an intro to the show and between each performer.
The Costumes
A costume expert was hired to recreate all the vintage costumes that the performers wore at Woodstock.
The Spirit
This show relives the spirit, ambiance & attitude of musicians and people that attended the real deal in 1969.
The Hippies
Of course, we could not have a show like this without hippies! We have 6 young women dressed like hippies with hairdos , flower robes, headbands and patchouli! And we ask people who will come to the show to dress up as well!
Image
Image
Image

Vintage Productions

901 A Boulevard du Curé-Boivin
Boisbriand, QC
J7G 2S8

or send us your questioins or a message via our contact form below...

WE Logo fr

English

WE Logo fr

English

Image

En 1971, à l’âge de 14 ans, j’ai vu à quelques pieds de moi, Frank Marino qui jouait du Jimi Hendrix sur une plate-forme à la Place Versailles et qui s’est ensuite dirigé vers l’Aréna Maurice Richard, pour y faire un spectacle en l’honneur du premier anniversaire de la mort de Jimi Hendrix.

Je n’ai pas assisté au spectacle parce que je n’avais ni billet ni argent, mais les quelques 30 ou 40 minutes ou j’ai pu observer Frank Marino jouer, m’ont donné la passion de la guitare et l’obsession qu’un jour, ce serait mon tour de donner un spectacle et de jouer du Jimi Hendrix.

Quelque 10 ans plus tard, soit au début des années 80, j’ai eu l’idée et le désir de mettre sur pied un spectacle qui reproduirait l’évènement qu’avait été Woodstock en 1969, idée qui finalement laissait sa place à mon emploi et mes autres activités.

Devenu collectionneur de guitares et toujours fervent amateur de Hendrix et de Woodstock, j’ai acheté une guitare qui est la reproduction de la Gibson 335 que Alvin Lee avait à Woodstock, guitare que je mis finalement en vente sur Ebay en 2009 et qui a été achetée par un médecin Français, qui m’invitait à une semaine de jam sur l’île de Embiez dans le sud de la France et dont le thème était Woodstock!

Pour l’évènement, je trouvais le nom de « Forty Years After » pour notre groupe improvisé et revoiçi à nouveau l’obsession de monter un hommage à Woodstock, plus forte que jamais!

Après avoir mis sur pied une compagnie de production, une équipe de 15 musiciens plus ; directeur musical, régisseur, techniciens de son et d’éclairage, une équipe de techniciens et même un groupe de hippies directement des années 60, la première de Forty Years After « The Woodstock Experience » eut lieu au Club Soda, samedi le 6 août 2011!

Nous planifions maintenant une relance du spéctacle en 2019, renommée Fifty Years After, pour des raisons évidentes !

Sur scène, une reproduction des meilleurs moments de Woodstock en son et en image, tout en tentant de rester fidèle à la technologie de l’époque en ce qui a trait aux équipements et aux instruments, au son et à l’éclairage ainsi qu’aux costumes; encens & patchouli et bandeau Peace & Love dans les cheveux tout comme en 1969!!

Ceci est beaucoup plus qu’un groupe «hommage», tous les musiciens ont été minutieusement choisis pour leurs habilités à performer comme les artistes qui ont participé au Festival de Woodstock en 1969.

Venez voir Hendrix, Santana, Cocker, The Who et bien d’autres artistes pour cette grande première de « Fifty Years After » .

Claude Zalac, Président
Vintage Productions

Fifty years after
Image
The Show
Fifty Years After is a trip back to 1969 at the Woodstock Music & Art Fair with 15 musicians, recreating 15 of the most exciting bands to perform at these 3 Days of Peace & Music!
Le Spectacle
“Fifty Years After” “L’expérience Woodstock” est un voyage dans le temps jusqu’en 1969 au Woodstock Music & Art Fair avec 15 musiciens sur scène, qui reprennent les 15 groupes les plus marquants qui ont performés pendant ces 3 Jours de paix et de musique!
La Technique
Seulement des instruments d’époque (vintage) sont utilisés pour ce spectacle, dans le but de reproduire le son véritable de tous les groupes qui ont participé à Woodstock; aucun laser dans ce spectacle!
Les Clips
Ce spectacle multimédia comprend des scènes du film de Woodstock qui sont projetées en intro pour le spectacle et les artistes.
Les Costumes
Une costumière expérimentée a été engagée, pour recréer tous les habillements et costumes des artistes qui ont performé à Woodstock.
L'Esprit
Ce spectacle recréer l’ambience, l’esprit et l’attitude des musiciens et personnes qui étaient présents lors du Festival de Woodstock en 1969.
Les Hippies
Bien sur, nous ne pouvions pas faire un spectacle comme celui-là sans avoir des hippies! Nous avons 6 jeunes femmes qui sont habillées en hippies avec les robes en fleurs, les bandeaux dans les cheveux et du patchouli!
Image
Image
Image

Vintage Productions

901 A Boulevard du Curé-Boivin
Boisbriand, QC
J7G 2S8

ou envoyez-nous vos questions ou vos messages via notre formulaire de contact ci-dessous...